Arlington Sports Conditioning - Pete Leibman

Faster. Stronger. Fitter.

ASC Athlete Profile: Laura Tyson

Laura Tyson

Name: Laura Tyson

Nickname: Lo or Ty

Birthday: November 25

Hometown: Alamo, California (outside San Francisco)

What is your athletic background? Did you play any sports growing up?

“I grew up playing every sport, including T-Ball with the boys, and ultimately narrowed it down to basketball and soccer as I got older. Soccer was my passion, and I played competitively year round until an ankle injury led to a doctor’s strong recommendation to remove all sports from my life that require “zig-zags”, “cutting”, and “long term running”. I have two brothers and a large extended family, and we all grew up playing hockey, tag, tubing, biking, skiing and always had very active family gatherings. My family has been hiking their way through the list of 14ers in Colorado since the early 90s. I was finally able to do the hikes when I moved there, and look forward to doing it each year.”

When did you attend your first workout with Arlington Sports Conditioning, and how did you first learn about the group?

“My first workout was fall 2022, and I heard about it through Greg Tashjian [another ASC member]. Bleachers were not mentioned in the initial pitch of attending the class, but I’ve learned to enjoy them.”

What is your proudest athletic accomplishment, and why?

“I have two: The first is skiing down a black diamond at the top of Copper Mountain under age 5 (there’s still a big family debate if I was 3 or 4 at the time). The second is when my soccer team won the national cup and our picture was taken and put on a Wheaties box with our gold medals.”

What is your favorite exercise(s)?

“Bleachers, followed closely by relays”

What is your favorite workout song or musical artist?

“Linkin Park”

What is your favorite sports team?

“The Golden State Warriors (Go Dubs!)”

Who is your favorite athlete?

“The Splash Brothers [Steph Curry and Klay Thompson] with a side of Poole Party [Jordan Poole]. Recently, I have really enjoyed watching interviews with Kobe about philosophies in life and life outside of basketball.”

Other than working out, how else do you like to spend your free time?

“I have a 4-month old puppy who is absolutely wonderful. I grew up traveling as my father was an airline pilot, so I still enjoy traveling and try to travel somewhere new as much as I can. I enjoy cooking as much as I can as well.”

What do you like best about Arlington Sports Conditioning? What are the biggest benefits that you have experienced as a member?

“The work outs and the people. It was easy to jump in and create a habit of attending the classes.  Great community, solid workout that’s flexible to your needs/level, and I enjoy the music selection.”

What advice would you offer to new or prospective members of Arlington Sports Conditioning?

“The bleachers do get easier with time, and it does feel great when you get to a point where you can make it through two rounds in 8 minutes.”